Burdy by Karen Spears Zacharias 

4 out of 5

“forgiveness requires context, while judgement rarely takes context into consideration.”

This is not normally a book I would pick for myself, but I read it for my book club chapter of the Pulpwood Queens. Not a favorite, but I still give it 4 stars for several reasons.

Sequel to Mother of Rain, the author intended for this book to also read as a stand alone. I don’t see a reason why you couldn’t although there is quite a bit of information a reader should know from the first book concerning relationships between the characters and situations that are referred to.

This was a super easy read since it’s less than 200 pages and if I didn’t have to work, I would have finished it in one day. The opening line really drew me in from the get go. I mean, Burdy gets shot. Who wouldn’t be curious about what happened?

Easy flow to the writing, however, the chapters were so short at times that I felt like there was an interruption to the flow.  

I loved Burdy. Such a strong, independent, female character that I really got on board with. The reader can really take something away from her.

Overall, not a bad book! Recommended to anyone who wants a nice, easy weekend read.

Ciao! 

Leave a Reply

