The Splintered Series by A.G. Howard

  1. ​Splintered
  2. Unhinged
  3. Ensnared
  4. Untamed (novella)

When I picked up this book, I have to admit, it was because the cover caught my eye. I didn’t know any information about it, but since it was a bargain book at BAM and the blurb on the back cover spiked my interest, I decided to take it home with me. It took me a little while to get to it since I already had several books in my to read pile, but when I did, I was pleasantly surprised. Of course, I went on to read the entire trilogy plus the novella. 
Not exactly a retelling of Alice in Wonderland, this series gives a different view of how things went down.

I really love the steam punk vibe in the characters. That combined with the added detail of the books being printed in colored ink instead of black really set this series apart from a lot of other things I read.

Overall, the writing was good and the story moved at a good pace. In the second book, I found myself annoyed because the protagonist was so indecisive which, in my mind, made the pace sputter and crawl. The second book redeemed itself with a big bang of an ending which led right into the third with a big finish to the trilogy.

I really enjoyed this series with all of the u expected twists, the cunning of the characters, the love, and even some of the nightmare inducing elements. It was a nice change of pace to the normal things I gravitate towards when picking things to read. (Part of my new thing is to branch out in my reading choices!)

I recommend this series if you enjoy YA with a little twist!  


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s